6. Small Victories

Every year since I began writing about games I have tried to set realistic goals for myself. Last year, after having a pretty dreadful year for the most part, I surprised myself by achieving my goal, which was to finish the year working as a paid games journalist. It was not quite how I had envisioned it happening but nevertheless I have achieved it.

I considered this to be a small victory given how bad a time I’d had for the first 9 months of 2009.

I hadn’t really thought about what my goals should be for this year until I had a short conversation with  my editor at Play.tm about events coverage. All the glitz and glamour of the Consumer Electronics Show in Vegas got me thinking about what shows I’d like to get to this year.

Last year I managed to make the London Games Conference as well as making my annual trip through to Edinburgh Interactive. This year I really want to make a big splash and cover as many events as I can.  The UK events are usually very good and of all of them I would probably love to go to Brighton’s Develop the most. I’ll probably land passes for Edinburgh Interactive again which is usually good fun even though last year’s was a bit underwhelming and I hope to try and get to NEoN in Dundee if it makes a reappearance. I think that, although teh Nordic Games Conference and Gamescom are not out of reach they might be too much of a financial stretch for me to make them. I’ll still add them to the list as extras though.

These are all things that I want to do rather than goals though. I guess my main goal for this year has to be to make a living from being a games journalist. I now earn enough money now to consider myself a professional games journalist but I would like to finish the year either as a staff writer or a self-sustaining freelancer with a decent number of regular gigs. This all depends to a certain extent on chance but I will be here putting in the hours in front of the keyboard to make my goal a reality.

That, my friends, will be more than a small victory.

Leave a Reply

