10. Writing

I’d like to think that my style of writing is pretty distinct. Feel free to tell me if I am wrong, but I have been working on developing my style for a very long time.

Since I was at school, I have been writing. I used to write trashy sci-fi short stories that the Games Workshop would be proud to put out in paperback form.

When I went to university it was mostly scientific writing and critical analysis. The later philosophy stuff gets pretty crazy. I wrote my dissertation on the links between memory and personal identity. It is quite fascinating if you’re into all that metphysical stuff.

When I left university, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do and I eventually struck on journalism. Being an avid gamer and a very competent critical writer it was only logical that I apply my literary talents to the one field that I am truly passionate about.

And so, a monster was born – a very grouchy, hairy monster  whose life spent in rooms lit only by computer screens was finally putting his reclusive hobby to good use.

I love writing about games and now, having been at it for two years, I’m finally getting somewhere. I can probably put this down to the fact that my writing no longer stinks! As they always say (whoever they are) practice makes perfect.

Feel free to cast you eyes over all he work I have showcased here. I feel I have grown immensely since I got an article about video game violence nominated for an award back in early 2008 (although the post says 2007 it was the 07/08 academic year). Now I’m writing stuff like this article about the PS3 and this article on Bitmob about games reviews.

It is quite gratifying to see the improvement. It feels like there might just be some light at the end of the tunnel.

Leave a Reply

