25. Frustration

I really need to vent today. When things get tough there is often not a lot of room to maneouvre.

This counts for just now as much as any. With the threat of hour cuts right now I find myself searching  the job sites every day for some morsel of work that could bring in more money than my stockroom duties.

I always promised myself that I would only move on from my current ‘job’ when I either worked myself into a position were I had a steady amount of freelance work or scored the holy grail of a staff writer job at a magazine or website. Sadly, I am finding myself in a position where it has become almost impossible to keep that promise and, if it weren’t for the fact that there’s bugger all work for a man with my qualifications and experience either inside or outside of the games industry sphere.

I am ecstatic that I have paid freelance work. The gig at Play.tm is an awesome opportunity. I just wish that I had more work to supplement it with.

Scotland  is hardly the best place to go about chasing a career in games journalism despite its thriving development community. If anyone has any suggestions please feel free to drop me a line. In the meantime I will be experimenting with alchemy. I’m sure that I can turn that lead into gold somehow.

Leave a Reply

