30. Immersion

I spend an awful lot of time immersed in gaming. Professionally this is a very good thing. I cannot write about gaming if I don’t have the knowledge and experience to be considered an expert.

Socially this isn’t always a good thing. It’s fine when I am spending time with other games enthusiasts but it does present a problem when I come to spend time with others who do not share my love of video games.

I have come to the conclusion that I should be rounding my experiences off a bit more so that I can carry a conversation about some thing else. Thankfully I do have other interests outside of gaming and some of the experiences I have had in the past set me up quite nicely to be able to hold a conversation about something other than how ridiculously arbitrary review scores are or why Ezio is not related to Super Mario.

Frustratingly enough my other interests are seasonal and none of them are in season until at least next weekend. I wonder if Scotland will win more than one match in the 6-Nations this year?

Leave a Reply

