102. Strategy Informer: Silent Hunter 5 Review

I used to love submarine sims. I can even remember wanting to play the first Silent Hunter game on my 286 but never being able to find it.

Instead I cut my teeth on an early Tom Clancy game Red Storm Rising, a Cold War submarine sim made by Microprose. It was pretty damn good for its time and it and I may have lobbed a fair few cruise missiles at the USSR even after the Iron Curtain came down.

I have some fond memories of these games and I approached Silent Hunter 5 with a fairly nostalgic air. However, nostalgia did not soften me one bit for what I experienced playing this game. Read the review here.

Leave a Reply

